Butyl Rubber Encyclopedia

White carbon black reinforces low hardness butyl compound using coupling agent

Create Date:2020-06-29 09:32:32Click volume:105
White carbon black reinforces low hardness butyl compound using coupling agent

Butyl rubber has excellent air tightness, water tightness, heat resistance, shock absorption and chemical stability, and can be used in the production and preparation of various tires, sealing gaskets, anti-corrosion linings, heat-resistant conveyor belts, and waterproof materials. Good effect and long product life. In low-hardness butyl rubber products, rubber product manufacturers often use white carbon black modified by coupling agents instead of directly using white carbon black. Why? What should I pay attention to when using silica/coupling agent for low hardness butyl compounds?

1. Reasons for the use of coupling agent modified white carbon black for reinforcement of low hardness butyl compounds

As we all know, the role between butyl rubber and reinforcing agent is weak. Blindly increasing the amount of reinforcing agent will not only cause waste of raw materials, but the reinforcing agent cannot be evenly dispersed in the rubber compound. It will also bring about the processing of butyl rubber products. It is troublesome, so when reinforcing agent is used in butyl rubber products, the reinforcing agent is usually heat-treated in advance or modified with additives in an appropriate amount.

White carbon black is the product with the best reinforcement effect among light-colored rubber fillers, but the use of white carbon black alone cannot achieve the desired reinforcement effect, so rubber product manufacturers often use silane coupling agent 2LLYY629 to modify white carbon black . When butyl rubber is used to prepare low-hardness butyl compound, the coupling agent in the white carbon black can significantly improve the reinforcing effect of the white carbon black in the butyl rubber, and improve the tensile strength, elasticity and wear resistance of the butyl rubber And other indicators.

In actual production, the mixing of butyl rubber compound using silica/coupling agent has higher safety and faster vulcanization speed.

2. Skills of adding white carbon black/coupling agent in low-hardness butyl rubber

(1) Frequently asked questions: When using carbon black/silane coupling agent to prepare low-hardness butyl rubber products, if carbon black reinforcement is also used in the formulation, due to the role of different varieties of reinforcement in butyl rubber The effect is different, so rubber product manufacturers need to grasp the timing of the addition of the three raw materials. Adding carbon black and then adding white carbon black/coupling agent or white carbon black/coupling agent too fast, etc. will cause carbon black and white carbon black in The reinforcement effect in butyl compounds is greatly reduced.

(2) Solution: During the mixing process of low-hardness butyl rubber with carbon black/silica/coupling agent, the workshop operator should adjust the roller pitch and roller temperature according to actual needs. After wrapping the roller and kneading moderately, slowly add a small amount of white carbon black/coupling agent, and increase the amount of each time appropriately. After each addition, knead for a period of time until it is completely added. Refining, and then add a small amount of carbon black several times to ensure that the butyl rubber has good flexibility and fluidity, and effectively avoid the problems of bubbles on the surface of the low-hardness butyl rubber products and the edge of the parting line.

When butyl rubber is used to reinforce low-hardness rubber products using white carbon black, rubber product manufacturers usually use silane coupling agents to modify white carbon black. Common varieties are coupling agents Si-69, modified butyl rubber products The aging resistance will increase with the increase of the amount of silica. It should be noted that when the general silane coupling agent Si-69 reacts with white carbon black, usually only about 50% of the added amount participates in the reaction, and it needs to be parked for about 24 hours during use.

丁基再生胶百科

白炭黑补强低硬度丁基胶料使用偶联剂的意义与技巧

时间:2020-06-29 09:32:32点击:395编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
白炭黑补强低硬度丁基胶料使用偶联剂的意义与技巧

丁基橡胶气密性、水密性、耐热性、减震性以及化学稳定性能优异,可用于各种轮胎、密封垫圈、防腐衬里、耐热输送带、防水材料的生产与制备,使用效果好、制品寿命长。在低硬度丁基橡胶制品中,橡胶制品厂家通常使用经偶联剂改性后的白炭黑补强,不是直接使用白炭黑,这是为何?低硬度丁基胶料使用白炭黑/偶联剂时该注意什么?

1.低硬度丁基胶料使用偶联剂改性白炭黑补强的原因

众所周知,丁基橡胶与补强剂之间作用较弱,盲目的通过提高补强剂用量不仅会造成原材料的浪费,补强剂无法在胶料中均匀分散还会给丁基橡胶制品加工带来困扰,因此在丁基橡胶制品中使用补强剂补强时,通常提前将补强剂进行热处理或适量使用添加剂改性。

白炭黑是浅色橡胶填充剂中补强效果最好的产品,但单独使用白炭黑并不能达到理想的补强效果,因此橡胶制品厂家经常使用硅烷偶联剂2LLYY629对白炭黑进行改性。使用丁基橡胶制备低硬度丁基胶料时,白炭黑中配合偶联剂可以明显提高白炭黑在丁基胶中的补强作用,提高丁基胶拉伸强度、弹性、耐磨性等指标。

在实际生产中,使用白炭黑/偶联剂的丁基胶料混炼安全性更高、硫化速度更快。

2.白炭黑/偶联剂在低硬度丁基胶料中的添加技巧

(1)常见问题:使用白炭黑/硅烷偶联剂制备低硬度丁基橡胶制品时,如果配方中还使用了炭黑补强,由于不同品种的补强剂在丁基胶料中的作用效果不同,因此橡胶制品厂家需要掌握三种原材料的添加时机,加入炭黑再加入白炭黑/偶联剂或者白炭黑/偶联剂添加速度过快等都会导致炭黑、白炭黑在丁基胶料中的补强效果大打折扣。

(2)解决办法:在同时含有炭黑/白炭黑/偶联剂的低硬度丁基胶料混炼过程中,车间操作人员应根据实际需求调整好辊距、辊温,在丁基橡胶包辊并进行适度捏炼之后,将白炭黑/偶联剂小量缓慢加入,并逐次适当增加每次的量,每次加完之后多炼一段时间直至完全添加,之后进行左右割胶适度回炼,再将炭黑分多次少量加入,以保证丁基胶料具备良好的柔韧性、流动性,有效避免低硬度丁基橡胶制品表面出现气泡、分模线处烂边等问题。

丁基橡胶生产低硬度橡胶制品使用白炭黑补强时,橡胶制品厂家通常使用硅烷偶联剂对白炭黑进行改性,常见的品种有偶联剂Si-69,改性后丁基橡胶制品的耐老化性等会随着白炭黑用量的增加而增强。需要注意的是,一般硅烷偶联剂Si-69与白炭黑反应时,通常只有添加量的50%左右参与反应,使用过程中需要停放24小时左右。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。