EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Can EPDM recycled rubber produce cold resistant rubber products?

Create Date:2023-03-15 14:35:53Click volume:2100
Can EPDM recycled rubber produce cold resistant rubber products?

Many rubber products on the market need to work under low temperature conditions, such as automotive brake seals working in cold areas. It is required that the rubber material will not undergo brittle fracture under low temperature conditions and can maintain its original elasticity and flexibility, and the permanent deformation of low temperature compression is good; Ethylene-propylene rubber is a non-polar rubber with good flexibility. Its glass transition temperature is low, and its low temperature performance is good. The minimum service temperature can reach below - 50 ℃. As a low-cost raw material for EPDM, can EPDM recycled rubber be used in the production of cold-resistant rubber products? What should we pay attention to?

1. Raw rubber selection skills for cold-resistant rubber products produced by EPDM recycled rubber

Cold resistant rubber gasket

EPDM recycled rubber is mostly used with EPDM raw rubber to produce cold-resistant rubber products. When the ethylene content in EPDM is 40% - 60%, it has the lowest glass transition temperature, and the low temperature performance of the obtained rubber compound is the best; Wide ethylene composition distribution will increase the length of ethylene chain segment and crystal composition, resulting in poor low-temperature performance of rubber compound. Therefore, when EPDM recycled rubber is used to produce cold-resistant molded products, it is recommended to use it in combination with EPDM with excellent low-temperature compression set performance with ethylene content less than 50% and very narrow composition distribution.

2. Design of reinforcement system for cold-resistant rubber products produced by EPDM recycled rubber

When EPDM/EPDM reclaimed rubber is used to produce cold resistant rubber products, it is recommended to use carbon black with low or medium reinforcement as far as possible to give the rubber material good elastic and dynamic properties. spray carbon black is commonly used. In actual production, carbon black with good reinforcing performance has strong interaction with macromolecules, which will limit the activity of macromolecules and may have adverse effects on the cold resistance of rubber compound.

Low temperature resistant rubber pipe

3. Design of softening system for cold-resistant rubber products produced by EPDM recycled rubber

Softener has lubricating effect on macromolecules in rubber, can improve the mobility of macromolecules, and can improve the low-temperature performance of rubber compound. When using EPDM/EPDM recycled rubber 2SLYY315 to produce cold-resistant rubber products, the use of softeners with low freezing point, strong plasticizing effect and good compatibility has a significant effect on improving the cold-resistance of the rubber compound, and the greater the dosage, the more obvious the effect; It is recommended to use ester plasticizers (such as DOS, DBS, DOA, DBP, DOP, etc.), naphthenic oil or paraffin oil with medium or low viscosity.

4. Design of curing system for cold-resistant rubber products produced by EPDM recycled rubber

EPDM reclaimed rubber

When EPDM/EPDM recycled rubber is used to produce cold-resistant rubber products, the type and density of cross-linking bond also have an impact on the low-temperature performance of the rubber compound. In actual production, the low-temperature performance of EPDM peroxide vulcanizate is better than that of sulfur vulcanizate. The good elasticity of peroxide vulcanizate makes macromolecules have a faster response to external forces. Considering the degree of crosslinking, moderate crosslinking reduces the regularity of molecular chain and improves the low-temperature performance; However, if the degree of crosslinking is too deep, the modulus will increase, and the molecular activity will be limited, so the low-temperature performance of the rubber compound will also be adversely affected.

The use of EPDM recycled rubber reduces the production cost of cold-resistant rubber products. What other factors will affect the cold-resistance of EPDM vulcanizates? The following editor will continue to discuss relevant issues with you.

Exclusive original article [commercial authorization] reprint, excerpt and excerpt in any form are prohibited without written authorization. Focus on Hongyun rubber: learn the process formula and raw material technology of producing rubber products from recycled rubber to help you reduce costs and increase profits

乙丙再生胶百科

三元乙丙再生胶可以生产耐寒橡胶制品吗?

时间:2023-03-15 14:35:53点击:2160编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
三元乙丙再生胶可以生产耐寒橡胶制品吗?

市面上很多橡胶制品需要工作在低温条件下,比如在寒冷地区工作的汽车刹车密封件,要求胶料在低温条件下不发生脆化断裂并能保持原有弹性和屈挠性,低温压缩永久变形好;乙丙橡胶属于柔顺性很好的非极性橡胶,玻璃化温度较低,低温性能很好,最低使用温度可达-50℃以下。三元乙丙再生胶作为乙丙橡胶的低价替代原料,是否可以用于耐寒橡胶制品生产中?又该注意哪些问题?

1.三元乙丙再生胶生产耐寒橡胶制品生胶选择技巧

耐寒橡胶垫片

三元乙丙再生胶多与乙丙原胶并用生产耐寒橡胶制品。当EPDM中乙烯含量在40%-60%时,具有最低的玻璃化温度,所得胶料的低温性能最好;宽的乙烯组成分布会使长的乙烯链段增加,结晶成分增多,导致胶料的低温性能变差。因此三元乙丙再生胶生产耐寒型模压制品时,建议与乙烯含量低于50%并具有非常窄的组成分布的低温压缩永久变形性能优异的乙丙橡胶并用。

2.三元乙丙再生胶生产耐寒橡胶制品补强体系设计

使用三元乙丙橡胶/三元乙丙再生胶并用胶生产耐寒橡胶制品时,建议尽量使用具有低补强或中补强性的炭黑,赋予胶料良好的弹性和动态性能,常用的有喷雾炭黑。在实际生产中,补强性能好的炭黑与大分子的作用强,会限制大分子的活动性,可能对胶料的耐寒性有不利的影响。

耐低温橡胶管

3.三元乙丙再生胶生产耐寒橡胶制品软化体系设计

软化剂对橡胶中的大分子具有润滑作用,可提高大分子的活动性,可提高胶料的低温性能。使用三元乙丙橡胶/三元乙丙再生胶2SLYY315并用胶生产耐寒橡胶制品时,使用凝固点低、增塑作用强、相容性好的软化剂对改善胶料的耐寒性作用明显,并且用量越大,效果越显著;建议使用酯类增塑剂(如DOS、DBS、DOA、DBP、DOP等)、中黏度或中低黏度的环烷油或石蜡油等。

4.三元乙丙再生胶生产耐寒橡胶制品硫化体系设计

三元乙丙再生胶

三元乙丙橡胶/三元乙丙再生胶并用胶生产耐寒橡胶制品时,交联键的类型和交联键密度的大小对胶料的低温性能也有影响。在实际生产中,三元乙丙过氧化物硫化胶低温性能比硫黄硫化胶好,过氧化物硫化胶料良好的弹性使大分子对外力具有更快响应速度的结果。从交联程度来考虑,适度交联降低了分子链的规整性,使得低温性能改善;但如果交联程度过深的话,使得模量增加,分子的活动性受到了限制,因此对胶料的低温性能也有不利的影响。

使用三元乙丙再生胶降低耐寒橡胶制品生产中成本,还有哪些因素会影响EPDM硫化胶耐寒性呢?后续小编将继续与您讨论相关问题。

独家原创文章【商业授权】无书面授权禁止任何形式转载,摘抄、节选。关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。