EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

How to control the foaming speed and vulcanization speed of EPDM sponge

Create Date:2018-09-06 08:48:54Click volume:196
How to control the foaming speed and vulcanization speed of EPDM sponge

Sponge rubber made from EPDM/recycled rubber has light texture, low density, good elasticity and high softness. It not only has excellent shock absorption, sound insulation and thermal insulation properties, but also has light, heat, ozone and climate change. Good resistance, among which the sponge rubber produced with EPDM reclaimed rubber as the main raw material has lower production cost and higher cost performance; when EPDM reclaimed rubber produces sponge compound, the vulcanization speed and foaming speed are very important.

Studies have shown that: when the vulcanization rate of EPDM sponge rubber is faster than the foaming speed, the viscosity of the rubber compound increases, and the foaming is difficult; when the foaming speed is faster than the vulcanization speed, the gas easily runs away, and the foaming efficiency is lowered, resulting in a sponge. The rubber is insufficiently foamed and the surface of the crust is not smooth. Therefore, when rubber products manufacturers choose EPDM reclaimed rubber to produce sponge foam rubber, it is necessary to select a suitable blowing agent according to the molding process to ensure that the decomposition of the foaming agent is carried out within a temperature range that can be controlled by the vulcanization temperature. The vulcanization rate and foaming speed of the EPDM sponge rubber are adjusted by adjusting the foaming agent system and the vulcanization system setting.

1. Foaming agent system

In actual production, since the decomposition speed of the foaming agent is greatly affected by the compounding agent used in the rubber compound, it is more difficult to adjust than the vulcanization speed. Generally, after the completion of the foaming agent matching system, the EPDM sponge rubber compound is adjusted. The vulcanization system adjusts the vulcanization rate to suit its foaming speed. For example, when using EPDM reclaimed rubber to produce sponge foam hose, when the compound chemical foaming agent HCB is selected as the EPDM sponge, it is necessary to adjust the type and amount of various compounding agents in the vulcanization system to adapt to the foaming speed.

2. Vulcanization system

The commonly used vulcanization system for EPDM rubber products includes sulfur vulcanization system and peroxide vulcanization system. In the sponge rubber compound with EPDM reclaimed rubber as the main raw material, in order to better adjust the vulcanization speed and foaming speed. Manufacturers of rubber products can use DCP as the main vulcanizing agent and sulfur as the auxiliary vulcanizing agent, and cooperate with the accelerator TT and the accelerator DM to match the foaming speed of HCB. For example, in the EPDM foaming hose, 3 DCP can be used. 0.3 parts of sulfur, 0.5 part of accelerator TT, 0.15 parts of accelerator DM to mix 10 parts of foaming agent HCB, where the amount of raw rubber is calculated as 100 parts). It is worth mentioning that the EPDM reclaimed rubber processed from the waste ethylene propylene diene rubber product itself contains a small amount of a vulcanizing agent, a promoter and the like, and the effective rubber content is different from the raw rubber. Manufacturers need to adjust the amount of compounding agent according to the actual situation.

The EPDM sponge rubber for different use occasions has great differences in the performance requirements of the rubber compound. Therefore, there is a certain difference between the selection and dosage of EPDM reclaimed rubber products. The rubber product manufacturers must “depend on the needs” and choose the most. A suitable EPDM reclaimed rubber, determine the reasonable dosage, adjust the foaming agent system and the vulcanization system to match the foaming speed and vulcanization speed.

乙丙再生胶百科

如何控制三元乙丙海绵胶发泡速度与硫化速度

时间:2018-09-06 08:48:54点击:215编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
如何控制三元乙丙海绵胶发泡速度与硫化速度

使用三元乙丙橡胶/再生胶生产的海绵橡胶质地轻、密度小、弹性好、柔软度高,不仅具有优异的减震、隔音、隔热性能,对光、热、臭氧、气候变化还有良好的抵抗作用,其中以三元乙丙再生胶为主要原料生产的海绵胶生产成本更低、性价比更高;EPDM再生胶生产海绵胶料时,硫化速度和发泡速度匹配十分重要。

研究表明:三元乙丙海绵橡胶的硫化速度比发泡速度快时,胶料黏度增大,发泡困难;发泡速度比硫化速度快时,气体容易跑掉,发泡效率降低,导致海绵橡胶发泡不足、结皮表面不光滑等问题。因此橡胶制品厂家在选择三元乙丙再生胶生产海绵发泡橡胶时,需要根据成型工艺选择分解温度适宜的发泡剂,保证发泡剂的分解在硫化温度可调控的温度范围内进行,需要通过调整发泡剂体系与硫化体系设置来调节三元乙丙海绵胶的硫化速度与发泡速度。

1、发泡剂体系

在实际生产中,由于发泡剂的分解速度受到胶料中所用配合剂影响较大,相对于硫化速度更难调节,一般都是等发泡剂配合体系确定完成之后再调整三元乙丙海绵胶料硫化体系,调节硫化速度以适应其发泡速度。比如使用三元乙丙再生胶生产海绵发泡胶管时,选择复合化学发泡剂HCB作为三元乙丙海绵胶时就需要调整硫化体系中各种配合剂种类与用量来适应其发泡速度。

2、硫化体系

三元乙丙橡胶制品常用的硫化体系有硫磺硫化体系和过氧化物硫化体系,在以三元乙丙再生胶为主要原料的海绵胶料配方中,为了更好地调节硫化速度与发泡速度,橡胶制品厂家可以以DCP为主要硫化剂、硫磺为辅助硫化剂,配合促进剂TT、促进剂DM来匹配HCB发泡速度,比如(三元乙丙发泡胶管中,可以使用3份DCP、0.3份硫磺、0.5份促进剂TT、0.15份促进剂DM来配合10份发泡剂HCB,在这里生胶用量按100份计算)。需要注意的是,由于以废旧三元乙丙橡胶制品为原料加工而成的EPDM再生胶本身含有少量的硫化剂、促进剂等配合剂,有效含胶量与生胶存在一定差别,橡胶制品厂家需要根据实际情况调整配合剂用量。

不同使用场合的三元乙丙海绵胶对胶料性能需求有很大差别,因此三元乙丙再生胶产品选择与掺用量存在一定差异,橡胶制品厂家一定要“因需而异”,选择最合适的三元乙丙再生胶,确定合理的掺用量,调整发泡剂体系和硫化体系来匹配发泡速度和硫化速度。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。