EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Why does white carbon black affect the vulcanization properties of EPDM products?

Create Date:2018-07-30 10:25:50Click volume:457
Why does white carbon black affect the vulcanization properties of EPDM products?

White carbon black is a non-combustible, odorless and odorless white powder with excellent high temperature resistance and electrical insulation properties. It is a light color filler with excellent reinforcing performance. It can significantly improve the tear resistance of products in the production of EPDM rubber products. Cracking performance, adhesion strength, wet skid resistance and abrasion resistance; however, when white carbon black is used as the main reinforcing agent for EPDM rubber products, improper use and unreasonable combination will directly affect the vulcanization properties of the product. Why, how to solve it?

In the sulfur vulcanization system, most of the vulcanization accelerators contain an amino group. The adsorption of white carbon black and the reaction with the accelerator will reduce the promoting dose of the vulcanization reaction in the vulcanization system of the EPDM vulcanized product; the white carbon black is acidic. The acid promoter in the vulcanization system cannot be activated; at the same time, the white carbon black reacts with the activated sulfide zinc ion to reduce the concentration of zinc ions in the rubber compound; in the sulfur vulcanization system, the white carbon black directly affects the EPDM rubber. The vulcanization rate and degree of vulcanization of the product, the higher the activity of the white carbon black on the vulcanization process. In the peroxide vulcanization system, the white carbon black not only reduces the crosslinking speed of the peroxide, but also causes the DCP vulcanized rubber to emit an unpleasant odor when it is vulcanized.

Therefore, when adding white carbon black to the EPDM rubber product, the following problems should be paid attention to to reduce the influence of silica on the vulcanization process of EPDM rubber.

ENB (ethylidene norbornene) is a third monomer introduced in EPDM rubber obtained by copolymerization of ethylene and propylene, which can improve the vulcanization rate, tensile strength and permanent compression deformation of the rubber compound. The higher the ENB content, the smaller the impact of the EPDM vulcanization is affected by the white carbon black; the reasonable control of the amount of white carbon black (30-60 parts is suitable), as far as possible to meet the reinforcement performance of the EPDM rubber products The amount of white carbon black; combined with a certain amount of furnace carbon black, magnesium oxide and other alkaline complexing agents to neutralize the acidity of silica, improve the vulcanization properties of EPDM rubber; in the sulfur vulcanization system can increase the amount of zinc oxide Or add a small amount of magnesium oxide to reduce the tendency of white carbon black to take zinc ions from the vulcanization system; increase the amount of peroxide in the peroxide vulcanization system, use 1-3 parts of co-crosslinking agent; Ethylene-propylene rubber vulcanization time.

When using EPDM reclaimed rubber to replace EPDM rubber products in whole or in part to replace EPDM rubber, the usage and dosage of silica can be referred to this article; EPDM reclaimed rubber has low price and good performance, and reasonable use of white in formula Carbon black can not only reduce the production cost of EPDM rubber products, but also improve the vulcanization properties of rubber compounds and comprehensive indicators of rubber products.

乙丙再生胶百科

为什么白炭黑会影响三元乙丙制品硫化性能

时间:2018-07-30 10:25:50点击:486编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
为什么白炭黑会影响三元乙丙制品硫化性能

白炭黑是一种具有优异的耐高温性能、电绝缘性能的不燃、无嗅、无味的白色粉末,是补强性能优异的浅色填料,在EPDM橡胶制品生产中可以显著提高制品的抗撕裂性能、黏着强度、抗湿滑性能和耐磨性能;但将白炭黑作为三元乙丙橡胶制品的主要补强剂时,用量不当、配合不合理会直接影响制品的硫化性能,这是为何,又该如何解决?

在硫磺硫化体系中,大部分硫化促进剂都含有氨基,白炭黑的吸附作用和与促进剂的反应都会降低三元乙丙硫化制品硫化体系中参与硫化反应的促进剂量;白炭黑呈酸性,不能活化硫化体系中的酸性促进剂;同时白炭黑还会与活化硫化的锌离子反应降低胶料中锌离子的浓度;在硫磺硫化体系中,白炭黑会直接影响三元乙丙橡胶制品的硫化速度和硫化程度,活性越高的白炭黑对硫化工艺影响越大。过氧化物硫化体系中,白炭黑不仅会降低过氧化物的交联速度,还会导致DCP硫化后的胶料在硫化起模时散发出难闻的气味。

因此在三元乙丙橡胶制品中添加白炭黑补强时,需要注意以下问题以降低白炭黑对三元乙丙胶料硫化过程的影响。

ENB(乙叉降冰片烯)是有乙烯、丙烯经溶液共聚合而成的三元乙丙橡胶中引入的第三单体,可以提高胶料硫化速度、拉伸强度,降低永久压缩变形,一般ENB含量越高的三元乙丙橡胶硫化受白炭黑影响越小;合理控制白炭黑用量(30-60份为宜),在满足三元乙丙橡胶制品补强性能的前提下尽量降低白炭黑用量;配合使用一定量的炉法炭黑、氧化镁等碱性配合剂来中和白炭黑的酸性,改善EPDM胶料硫化性能;在硫磺硫化体系中可以通过加大氧化锌用量或添加少量氧化镁配合来减轻白炭黑从硫化体系中夺取锌离子的倾向;在过氧化物硫化体系中提高过氧化物用量,配合使用1-3份的助交联剂;适当延长三元乙丙胶料硫化时间。

使用三元乙丙再生胶全部或部分替代三元乙丙橡胶生产EPDM橡胶制品时,白炭黑的用法与用量可以参考本文;三元乙丙再生胶价格低、性能好,配方中合理使用白炭黑既可以降低EPDM橡胶制品生产成本,还能够改善胶料硫化性能和橡胶制品综合指标。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。