EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Can natural rubber be co-vulcanized with EPDM rubber?

Create Date:2020-07-22 08:39:07Click volume:130
Can natural rubber be co-vulcanized with EPDM rubber?

EPDM rubber has excellent high temperature resistance and ozone resistance but poor adhesion; natural rubber has good mechanical properties and processing technology properties but poor aging resistance. If natural rubber and EPDM rubber are used together in a certain proportion, the comprehensive performance of rubber products can be further improved. In actual production, the quality of vulcanized rubber directly determines the quality of finished rubber products. The co-vulcanization of two or more blends can further optimize the various indicators of the blended rubber; then can natural rubber be combined with EPDM rubber Realize co-vulcanization?

1. Definition of rubber co-vulcanization

Vulcanization is the process of adding vulcanizing system compounding agents (mainly vulcanizing agent and accelerator) to rubber, and converting linear rubber macromolecules into a three-dimensional network structure at a certain vulcanization temperature and vulcanization pressure. Rubber co-vulcanization means that under the same vulcanization conditions, different rubber phases reach the positive vulcanization point at the same time during the vulcanization process, and co-crosslinking occurs between the rubber phase interfaces. Due to the different solubility of vulcanizing agents and accelerators in various rubbers, the vulcanization speed and degree of vulcanization of each rubber phase of the combined rubber may be very different. Rubber product manufacturers need to solve this problem through the cooperation of vulcanization systems.

2. Co-vulcanization of natural rubber and EPDM rubber

In actual production, natural rubber has good compatibility with general-purpose synthetic rubbers such as styrene butadiene rubber and butadiene rubber, and has excellent rubber properties. However, there are differences in polarity, unsaturation and vulcanization activity between natural rubber and EPDM rubber: the main chain of EPDM molecule is aliphatic saturated chain, and there are no active groups and polar substituent groups inside. , The vulcanization speed is very slow; the solubility of vulcanized rubber and accelerator in NR and EPDM is different; it is difficult to achieve co-vulcanization.

3. How to realize co-vulcanization of natural rubber and EPDM rubber

The co-vulcanization of rubber is carried out under the conditions that have the basis of co-vulcanization. In actual production, it is first necessary to select a co-vulcanization system to balance and use the vulcanization speed of the rubber phase, balance the concentration distribution of the vulcanization accelerator 2LLYY722 in each rubber phase, and increase the reaction capacity of the less reactive rubber in advance. The vulcanizing agent has a high solubility in the natural rubber phase, and the natural rubber phase will quickly consume the vulcanizing agent during the vulcanization process, causing the vulcanization of natural rubber and EPDM rubber to fail to synchronize.

To achieve co-vulcanization of natural rubber and EPDM rubber, rubber products manufacturers need to solve two problems: one is to choose a suitable vulcanization accelerator to reduce the concentration difference between the two rubber phases; the second is Balance the vulcanization activity of natural rubber and EPDM rubber, and coordinate the vulcanization rate of rubber materials. Under normal circumstances, natural rubber chooses a slower vulcanization speed or a late-acting vulcanization system, which is conducive to co-vulcanization with EPDM; EPDM masterbatch adopts a fast vulcanization system, and the combination of sulfur and accelerator CZ can prepare a good comprehensive performance Natural/EPDM combined glue.

In actual production, due to the poor self-adhesiveness and mutual adhesion of EPDM, it cannot be used in rubber-metal products, which limits the expansion of EPDM rubber applications; in the formulation of EPDM rubber products Appropriate use of natural rubber can significantly improve this problem, but it takes a lot of work to achieve co-vulcanization of the two. At this time, you may wish to replace natural rubber with natural latex reclaimed rubber. Reclaimed latex retains the basic performance characteristics of natural rubber and has better compatibility with EPDM rubber. Co-vulcanization can be achieved by adjusting the vulcanization system appropriately; while reducing costs Further improve the performance of EPDM rubber products and expand the scope of application.

乙丙再生胶百科

天然橡胶能否与三元乙丙橡胶实现共硫化

时间:2020-07-22 08:39:07点击:123编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
天然橡胶能否与三元乙丙橡胶实现共硫化

三元乙丙橡胶耐高温、耐臭氧性能优异但粘合性差;天然橡胶力学性能与加工工艺性能良好但耐老化性能差。若是将天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶以一定比例并用可以进一步提高橡胶制品综合性能。在实际生产中,硫化胶质量直接决定橡胶制品成品品质,两种或两种以上共混胶料实现共硫化可以进一步优化共混胶料各项指标;那么天然橡胶能否与三元乙丙橡胶实现共硫化?

1.橡胶共硫化的定义

硫化是橡胶中加入硫化体系配合剂(主要是硫化剂与促进剂)之后,在一定硫化温度与硫化压力下,将线性橡胶大分子转变为三维网状结构的过程。橡胶共硫化是在同一硫化条件下,不同橡胶相硫化过程中同时达到正硫化点,各橡胶相界面间产生共交联。由于硫化剂、促进剂在各种橡胶中的溶解度不同,因此并用胶各橡胶相的硫化速度与硫化程度可能出现很大的差异,橡胶制品厂家需要通过硫化体系配合解决这个问题。

2.天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶的共硫化性

在实际生产中,天然胶与丁苯橡胶、顺丁橡胶等通用合成橡胶之间具有良好的相容性,并用胶性能优异。但天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶之间的极性、不饱和度以及硫化活性有差异:三元乙丙橡胶分子主链为脂肪族饱和链,内部没有活性基团以及极性的取代基团,硫化速度很慢;硫化胶、促进剂在NR与EPDM中的溶解度不同;很难实现共硫化。

3.天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶如何实现共硫化

橡胶共硫化是在具备共硫化基础的条件下进行的。在实际生产中,首先需要选择一种共硫化体系来平衡并用橡胶相的硫化速度、平衡硫化促进剂2LLYY722在各橡胶相中的浓度分配,提前增大活性小的橡胶反应能力。硫化剂在天然橡胶相中的溶解度较大,硫化过程中天然橡胶相会快速消耗硫化剂,导致天然橡胶/三元乙丙橡胶硫化无法同步。

想要天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶实现共硫化,橡胶制品厂家需要解决两个问题:一个是选择合适的硫化促进剂以减小促进剂在两种橡胶相之间的浓度差;第二是平衡天然橡胶与三元乙丙橡胶的硫化活性,协调并用胶料硫化速率。一般情况下,天然橡胶选择硫化速度较慢或迟效性硫化体系,有利于与EPDM实现共硫化;三元乙丙橡胶母胶采用快速硫化体系,硫磺与促进剂CZ配合可以制备综合性能良好的天然/三元乙丙并用胶。

在实际生产中,由于三元乙丙自粘性与互粘性很差,导致其在橡胶-金属制品中无法应用,限制了三元乙丙橡胶应用领域的拓展;在三元乙丙橡胶制品配方中适量使用天然橡胶可以明显改善这个问题,然而二者实现共硫化需要做很多工作。这时不妨将天然橡胶换成天然乳胶再生胶,再生乳胶保留了天然橡胶基本性能特点,与三元乙丙橡胶相容性更好,适当调整硫化体系即可实现共硫化;在降低成本的同时进一步改善三元乙丙橡胶制品性能,扩大应用范围。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。