EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

How to choose EPDM waterstop vulcanization system

Create Date:2019-06-25 09:00:01Click volume:220
How to choose EPDM waterstop vulcanization system

The rubber waterstop is mainly used in underground projects, tunnel culverts, water transfer aqueducts, dams and other basic projects. The main raw materials are natural rubber, neoprene and EPDM rubber, of which EPDM rubber is resistant to high and low temperature. Excellent aging resistance, the rubberized waterstop produced has a long service life. The design of the vulcanization system in the EPDM waterstop formulation not only affects the comprehensive index of the waterstop, but also affects the production efficiency of the rubber waterstop, so how to choose.

Sulfur vulcanization systems commonly used in rubber product formulations include sulfur vulcanization systems, peroxide vulcanization systems, and resin vulcanization systems. Sulfur vulcanization systems are further classified into ordinary sulfur vulcanization systems, semi-effective vulcanization systems, and effective vulcanization systems. Different vulcanization systems have different vulcanization rates. The indexes of the cured EPDM compound are different.

Studies have shown that the use of peroxide-vulcanized EPDM rubber can meet the basic performance requirements of rubber waterstops when vulcanized at 140 °C. Compared with ordinary sulfur vulcanization systems, the vulcanization time is short and can be fixed. To improve the efficiency of production. Therefore, when using EPDM rubber to produce rubber waterstops, peroxide cure systems are a good choice.

When the EPDM rubber waterstop is selected for peroxide vulcanization, the vulcanization process conditions affect the rubber waterstop index, and the appropriate increase of the vulcanization temperature can improve the compression set of the EPDM compound; when vulcanized at 140 ° C, the peroxide is vulcanized. The hardness of the EPDM compound after hot air aging is smaller than that of other vulcanization systems.

Compression set is an important indicator to measure the quality of EPDM rubber waterstop. The peroxide content in the EPDM rubber waterstop formulation also affects the compression set resistance of the compound. Under normal circumstances, when the amount of peroxide is 4-6 parts, the compression set of the rubber can meet the relevant technical standards. When the amount of peroxide in the formulation of the EPDM rubber waterstop is controlled to about 5 parts, it takes about 20 minutes to complete the entire vulcanization process at a temperature of 140 ° C, which is obviously advantageous for production efficiency.

At present, many EPDM rubber waterstop manufacturers use a proper amount of EPDM reclaimed rubber in the rubber waterstop material in order to reduce production costs. The EPDM rubber processed from EPDM unvulcanized rubber or waste EPDM rubber has its own vulcanizing agent, accelerator, activator, etc., which are not completely removed. This part of the compounding agent needs to be taken into account when refining the EPDM rubber waterstop vulcanization system; rationally adjusting the EPDM rubber waterstop formulation containing EPDM reclaimed rubber can reduce the production cost and improve the rubber compound. Vulcanization process performance.

乙丙再生胶百科

如何选择EPDM止水带硫化体系

时间:2019-06-25 09:00:01点击:461编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
如何选择EPDM止水带硫化体系

橡胶止水带主要用于地下设施、隧道涵洞、输水渡槽、拦水坝等基础工程中,主要原料有天然橡胶、氯丁橡胶和三元乙丙橡胶,其中三元乙丙橡胶耐高低温、耐老化性能优异,生产出来的橡胶止水带使用寿命很长。EPDM止水带配方中硫化体系设计不仅影响止水带的综合指标,还会影响橡胶止水带的生产效率,那么又该如何选择。

橡胶制品配方中常用的硫化体系有硫磺硫化体系、过氧化物硫化体系、树脂硫化体系,硫磺硫化体系又分为普通硫磺硫化体系、半有效硫化体系和有效硫化体系,不同硫化体系硫化速度不同、硫化后的EPDM胶料各项指标不同。

研究表明:使用过氧化物硫化的三元乙丙橡胶在140℃的条件下进行硫化操作时可以满足橡胶止水带的基本性能需求,与普通硫磺硫化体系相比正硫化时间短、可以在一定程度上提高生产效率。因此使用三元乙丙橡胶生产橡胶止水带时,过氧化物硫化体系是个不错的选择。

EPDM橡胶止水带选择过氧化物硫化时,硫化工艺条件影响橡胶止水带指标,其中适当提高硫化温度可以改善EPDM胶料压缩永久变形;在140℃的温度下进行硫化时,过氧化物硫化的EPDM胶料热空气老化后的硬度变化比其他硫化体系小。

压缩永久变形是衡量EPDM橡胶止水带质量的重要指标,其中三元乙丙橡胶止水带配方中过氧化物含量也会影响胶料耐压缩永久变形性能。一般情况下,当过氧化物用量在4—6份时,胶料的压缩永久变形可以满足相关技术标准。当三元乙丙橡胶止水带配方中过氧化物用量控制在5份左右时,在140℃的温度下,需要20分钟左右可以完成整个硫化过程,很明显这对生产效率更有利。

目前很多三元乙丙橡胶止水带生产厂家为降低生产成本,都会在橡胶止水带原料中掺用适量的三元乙丙再生胶。以三元乙丙未硫化混炼胶或废旧三元乙丙橡胶制品为原料加工而成的三元乙丙橡胶本身含有未被完全脱去的硫化剂、促进剂、活化剂等,在设计含再生胶的三元乙丙橡胶止水带硫化体系时需要将这部分配合剂考虑进去;合理调整含三元乙丙再生胶的EPDM橡胶止水带配方既可以降低生产成本,还能够改善胶料硫化工艺性能。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。