EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Ways to improve the mechanical properties of EPDM static seals 2

Create Date:2019-05-31 09:31:53Click volume:94
Ways to improve the mechanical properties of EPDM static seals 2

Under static load, rubber has two properties of strength and elasticity. Tensile strength is the main index to measure the mechanical properties of rubber. When EPDM and EPDM reclaimed rubber are used together to produce static sealing strips, vulcanization system and reinforcement The type and amount of the compounding agent in the filling system and the softening system directly affect the mechanical properties of the rubber compound. How to choose the reinforcing agent, filler and softener in the EPDM sealing strip formula, and how to improve the mechanical properties?

3. Adjust EPDM static seal strip reinforcement system

The rubber product reinforcement system is composed of two parts: a reinforcing agent and a filler. The reinforcing agent can improve the mechanical strength of the EPDM rubber, and select high wear-resistant carbon black and super wear-resistant furnace black in the black static sealing strip. The reinforcing carbon black can obviously improve the mechanical strength of the EPDM sealing strip. The light-colored EPDM sealing strip can improve the static mechanical properties while improving the heat resistance of the sealing strip by using the white carbon black reinforcing; Black can also increase the tensile strength of EPDM vulcanizate, and can reduce the amount of carbon black to a certain extent and reduce the cost of raw materials.

The filler can increase the volume of the product and reduce the production cost in the EPDM sealing strip. However, the excessive use of the non-reinforcing inorganic filler will lead to an increase in the tear strength of the static sealing strip and a decrease in the tensile strength and the like. The mechanical properties of ethylene-propylene rubber/recycled rubber static sealing strips are degraded; rubber sealing strip processing manufacturers need to reduce the amount of inorganic fillers as much as possible, and carry out surface modification treatment if necessary. For example, activated calcium carbonate has a certain reinforcing effect in the rubber compound.

4. Adjusting the EPDM static seal strip softening system

Many rubber products manufacturers adjust the hardness of rubber products by adjusting the amount of reinforcing agent and softener to coordinate the relationship between various mechanical indexes of rubber products. Therefore, the types and dosages of softeners in EPDM static sealing strip formulations will also Affect the mechanical properties of the seal. EPDM rubber is a non-polar saturated rubber. Avoid using paraffin oil with low unsaturation as much as possible. Reduce the amount of naphthenic oil containing aromatic compounds and unsaturated compounds. The amount of paraffin oil and naphthenic oil must be used. Control between 10-25 and 10-50 parts to ensure that the EPDM/regenerative seals maintain good mechanical properties under static conditions.

At present, more and more static sealing strip products are produced by using EPDM rubber and EPDM reclaimed rubber as main raw materials, such as automotive sealing strips, door and window sealing strips, and studying the influencing factors of mechanical properties of EPDM static sealing strips. It is of great significance to improve the comprehensive performance of EPDM sealing strips and prolong the service life. If necessary, it can also increase the application range and dosage of EPDM reclaimed rubber in EPDM static sealing strips.

乙丙再生胶百科

提高EPDM静态密封条力学性能的办法2

时间:2019-05-31 09:31:53点击:97编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
提高EPDM静态密封条力学性能的办法2

在静态负荷下,橡胶具有强度和弹性两种性能,拉伸强度是衡量橡胶力学性能的主要指标;三元乙丙橡胶和三元乙丙再生胶并用生产静态密封条时,硫化体系、补强填充体系、软化体系中配合剂的种类与用量直接影响胶料力学性能,那么EPDM密封条配方中补强剂、填充剂、软化剂又该如何选择、如何配合才能提高其力学性能呢?

3.调整EPDM静态密封条补强体系

橡胶制品补强体系是由补强剂和填充剂两部分组成,其中补强剂可以改善三元乙丙胶料力学强度,在黑色静态密封条中选择高耐磨炭黑、超耐磨炉黑等补强炭黑可以明显提高EPDM密封条的力学强度,浅色三元乙丙密封条使用白炭黑补强可以在提高静态力学性能的同时改善密封条的耐热性;使用小粒径炭黑也可以增加三元乙丙硫化胶拉伸强度,并可以在一定程度上减少炭黑用量,降低原料成本。

填充剂在三元乙丙密封条中可以增加制品容积、降低生产成本,但非补强型无机填料用量过多会导致静态密封条的撕裂强度增大、拉伸强度等指标降低,三元乙丙橡胶/再生胶静态密封条力学性能下降;橡胶密封条加工厂家需要尽量降低无机填料用量,必要时进行表面改性处理,比如活性碳酸钙在胶料中还有一定的补强作用。

4.调整EPDM静态密封条软化体系

很多橡胶制品厂家都是通过调整补强剂与软化剂的用量来调节橡胶制品硬度的,用以协调橡胶制品各力学指标间的关系,因此EPDM静态密封条配方中的软化剂种类与用量也会影响密封条的力学性能。三元乙丙胶料是非极性饱和橡胶,尽可能避免使用不饱和度低的石蜡油,减少含有芳烃化合物和不饱和化合物的环烷油用量,必须使用石蜡油和环烷油时应将用量控制在10-25和10-50份之间,以保证三元乙丙橡胶/再生胶密封条在静态下保持良好的力学性能。

目前以三元乙丙橡胶和三元乙丙再生胶为主要原料生产的静态密封条产品越来越多,如车用密封条、门窗密封条,研究EPDM静态密封条力学性能的影响因素,对改善三元乙丙密封条综合性能,延长使用寿命意义重大,必要时还可以增加三元乙丙再生胶在EPDM静态密封条的应用范围和用量。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。