EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Comparison of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber and reinforced carbon black

Create Date:2022-03-28 10:30:04Click volume:784
Comparison of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber and reinforced carbon black

EPDM has excellent heat resistance, ozone resistance and weather resistance. It does not have reinforcement. It is often reinforced with carbon black or combined with self reinforced natural rubber. However, the molecular structure of EPDM and natural rubber is very different, the compatibility is poor, and the application conditions are harsh. Compared with natural rubber, the compatibility latex reclaimed rubber and EPDM rubber is better. Selecting the appropriate variety of carbon black can further optimize the physical and mechanical properties of the compound.

When using carbon black to improve the mechanical strength of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber, the variety and amount of carbon black will not only affect the physical properties of the compound, but also affect the rubber processing process, such as vulcanization process. Therefore, it is necessary to comprehensively consider various factors, select appropriate carbon black and reasonably control the amount of carbon black.

1. The particle size of carbon black affects the physical and mechanical properties of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber

There are a large number of active points on the surface of carbon black particles, which can produce chemical bonds that can slide along the surface of carbon black particles. When the rubber is deformed by external force, the sliding of molecular chain can absorb the impact of external force, play a buffer role, make the stress distribution uniform, and then improve the tensile strength and tear strength of the rubber.

physical and mechanical properties of latex reclaimed rubber

When the EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber compound is reinforced with carbon black, the smaller the particle size of carbon black, the higher the degree of structure, the larger the specific surface area and the higher the activity, the more the number of surface active points of carbon black. During mixing and vulcanization, more rubber macromolecular chains can be adsorbed to form more bonds, and the greater the tensile strength and elongation at break of the compound. However, if the particle size of carbon black is too small, the cohesion particles will increase, and the particles are easy to agglomerate, which is difficult to disperse during mixing, resulting in the decline of mechanical properties of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber.

2. The type of carbon black affects the production process of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber

In actual production, the smaller the particle size of carbon black, the higher the degree of structure, the more the amount of contained rubber, the increase of effective filling volume fraction, and the increase of the viscosity of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber mixture. In terms of vulcanization performance, the smaller the particle size of carbon black, the greater the network density of bonded rubber, which hinders the movement of rubber macromolecular chain and shortens the scorching time of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber.

Influence on the type of carbon black used in EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber blends

3. Common carbon black varieties and precautions of EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber compound

At present, carbon black varieties commonly used in rubber products industry include carbon black N220, carbon black N330, carbon black n774, carbon black n660, etc. among them, high wear-resistant furnace black N330 has better application effect in EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber compound. In actual production, carbon black N330 contains more rubber, the more the amount is, the more the amount of adhesive is, the more the reinforcing effect is remarkable, and the physical and mechanical properties of vulcanizate are better.

It should be noted that the specific surface area of carbon black with small particle size is large, and the area that needs to be wetted is larger. Therefore, during mixing, the feeding is slow, the energy consumption is high, the heat generation is much, and the dispersion is difficult. When EPDM / Latex reclaimed rubber is filled with N330, its dosage should be reasonably controlled.

Exclusive original article [commercial authorization] reprint, excerpt and excerpt in any form are prohibited without written authorization. Focus on Hongyun rubber: learn the process formula and raw material technology of producing rubber products from recycled rubber to help you reduce costs and increase profits

乙丙再生胶百科

三元乙丙/乳胶再生胶并用补强炭黑选用对比

时间:2022-03-28 10:30:04点击:369编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
三元乙丙/乳胶再生胶并用补强炭黑选用对比

三元乙丙橡胶具备优异的耐热、耐臭氧、耐候性,其自身不具备补强性,多使用炭黑补强或与自补强型的天然橡胶并用。然而三元乙丙橡胶与天然橡胶分子结构差异化很大,相容性差,并用条件苛刻。与天然橡胶相比,乳胶再生胶与三元乙丙橡胶的相容性更好,选择合适品种的炭黑可进一步优化并用胶物理机械性能。

使用炭黑提高三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶机械强度时,炭黑种类的品种与用量不仅会影响并用胶料的物性指标,还会影响胶料加工工艺过程,比如硫化工艺,因此需要综合考虑多种因素,选择合适的炭黑、合理控制炭黑用量。

1.炭黑粒径影响三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶物理机械性能

炭黑粒子表面存在大量活性点,活性点能够与橡胶分子产生化学作用生产能够沿着炭黑粒子表面产生滑动的化学键。当橡胶受到外力作用而产生变形时,分子链的滑动能够吸收外力冲击,起到缓冲作用,能够使应力分布均匀,继而提高胶料拉伸强度与撕裂强度。

乳胶再生胶物理机械性能

三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶使用炭黑补强时,炭黑粒径越小、结构度越高,比表面积越大、活性越高,炭黑表面活性点数目越多,混炼、硫化时可吸附更多的橡胶大分子链、形成更多的结合胶,并用胶的拉伸强度和扯断伸长率越大。但炭黑粒径过小,粒子间的凝聚力又会增大,粒子间易结团,混炼时难以分散,最终导致三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶机械性能下降。

2.炭黑种类影响三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶生产工艺过程

在实际生产中,炭黑粒径越小、结构度越高,包容胶的量越多,有效填充体积分数增大,三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶混炼胶粘度提高。从硫化性能上看,炭黑粒径越小,结合胶网络密度越大,继而阻碍了橡胶大分子链的运动,缩短三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶的焦烧时间。

“影响三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶炭黑种类”/

3.三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶常用的炭黑品种与注意事项

目前橡胶制品行业常用的炭黑品种有炭黑N220、炭黑N330、炭黑N774、炭黑N660等,其中高耐磨炉黑N330在三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶中应用效果更好。在实际生产中,炭黑N330包容胶的量更多,用量越多、结合胶量越多,补强效果显著,硫化胶物理机械性能更好。

需要注意的是:粒径小的炭黑比表面积大,需要湿润的面积更大,因此混炼时吃料较慢、耗能较高、生热多、分散困难,三元乙丙橡胶/乳胶再生胶并用胶填充N330时应合理控制其用量。

独家原创文章【商业授权】无书面授权禁止任何形式转载,摘抄、节选。关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。