EPDM Rubber Encyclopedia

Factors affecting the weatherability of EPDM products

Create Date:2019-04-02 08:43:16Click volume:114
Factors affecting the weatherability of EPDM products

EPDM rubber and EPDM reclaimed rubber have excellent weather resistance and are often used to produce rubber products that require long-term exposure to sunlight, hot oxygen, ozone, damp heat, etc., and delay rubber products in the above conditions. The aging time; so why is the EPDM compound excellent in weather resistance? What other factors will affect the weatherability of EPDM rubber?

1. Why is the EPDM compound excellent in weather resistance?

EPDM rubber is a copolymer of ethylene, propylene and a small amount of non-conjugated diene. Its main chain is composed of chemically stable saturated hydrocarbons. Only a small amount of unsaturated double bonds are contained in the side chain. The molecular chain is stable and not The saturation is extremely low, the unique molecular structure gives the EPDM excellent weather resistance; the EPDM reclaimed rubber is a recycled rubber processed from EPDM waste rubber and waste EPDM rubber products, retaining the original EPDM rubber. Some performance characteristics, including its weather resistance.

2. What are the factors affecting the weather resistance of EPDM compounds? How to improve the weather resistance of rubber products?

(1) Diene content affects the weather resistance of EPDM rubber

Studies have shown that the weather resistance of EPDM rubber is related to the content of diene. The molecular stability of EPDM rubber will decrease with the increase of diene content, resulting in poor weather resistance of EPDM rubber. . When using EPDM rubber and EPDM reclaimed rubber to produce rubber products with extremely strict weather resistance requirements, it is necessary to select a rubber compound with a low diene content to extend the service life of the rubber products.

(2) Some rubber fillers can improve the weatherability of EPDM compounds

The type and amount of filler in the rubber product formulation also affects the weatherability of the EPDM article. As the most commonly used reinforcing agent in the rubber products industry, carbon black itself has strong absorption of ultraviolet light. The smaller the particle size, the larger the amount, the more obvious the absorption effect on ultraviolet rays; the use of EPDM rubber or EPDM reclaimed rubber When producing black and dark rubber products, the amount of small particle size carbon black can be increased as much as possible. When the EPDM rubber is used to produce light-colored rubber products, the rubber product formulation can be filled with appropriate amount of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide to improve the weather resistance of the EPDM recycled rubber products.

(3) Rubber anti-aging agent significantly delays the aging time of EPDM products

Adding an appropriate amount of anti-aging agent to the rubber product formulation can delay the aging time and prolong the service life of the rubber product; among them, the amine anti-aging agent, the anti-aging agent NBC, the p-phenylenediamine anti-aging agent, the phenol anti-aging agent, the paraffin wax and the ultraviolet absorber are all It can significantly improve the weather resistance of EPDM rubber products, especially anti-sunlight aging; it is necessary to pay special attention to the fact that p-phenylenediamine anti-aging agent has excellent anti-sunlight aging effect, but its color change is serious and cannot be used in shallow Color and color EPDM rubber products are produced.

Both EPDM rubber and EPDM reclaimed rubber have excellent weather resistance. Selecting the rubber compound variety, rationally adjusting the reinforcing filling system and anti-aging system in the rubber product formula can further improve the EPDM rubber products. Weather resistant, extending the life of EPDM products.

乙丙再生胶百科

影响三元乙丙制品耐候性的因素

时间:2019-04-02 08:43:16点击:281编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
影响三元乙丙制品耐候性的因素

三元乙丙橡胶和三元乙丙再生胶都具备优异的耐天候性,经常被用来生产需要长期承受阳光照射、热氧、臭氧、湿热等条件的橡胶制品,延缓橡胶制品在上述条件中的老化时间;那么为什么三元乙丙胶料具备优异的耐候性呢?又有哪些因素会影响三元乙丙胶料的耐候性好坏?

1.三元乙丙胶料为何具有优异的耐天候性?

三元乙丙橡胶是乙烯、丙烯和少量的非共轭二烯烃的共聚物,其主链是由化学稳定的饱和烃组成,只有侧链中含有少量的不饱和双键,分子链稳定、不饱和度极低,独特的分子结构赋予三元乙丙橡胶优异的耐候性;三元乙丙再生胶是EPDM废胶、废旧EPDM橡胶制品加工而成的再生橡胶,保留了三元乙丙橡胶原有的性能特点,包括它的耐天候性。

2.影响EPDM胶料耐天候性的因素有哪些,如何提高橡胶制品耐候性?

(1)二烯烃含量影响三元乙丙胶料耐候性

研究表明:三元乙丙橡胶耐候性的好坏与二烯烃的含量有关,一般EPDM胶料的分子稳定性会随着二烯烃含量的增加而降低,从而导致三元乙丙橡胶耐候性变差。使用三元乙丙橡胶和三元乙丙再生胶生产对耐候性要求极为严格的橡胶制品时,必须选择低二烯烃含量的胶料,延长橡胶制品使用寿命。

(2)某些橡胶填料可以改善EPDM胶料耐候性

橡胶制品配方中的填充剂种类与用量也会影响EPDM制品的耐候性。炭黑作为橡胶制品业最常用的补强剂,本身对紫外线具有很强的吸收性,粒径越小、用量越大,对紫外线的吸收效果越明显;使用三元乙丙橡胶或EPDM再生胶生产黑色、深色橡胶制品时,可以尽量增加小粒径炭黑的用量。三元乙丙胶料生产浅色橡胶制品时,可以在橡胶制品配方中填充适量二氧化钛、氧化锌,提高三元乙丙再生胶制品的耐天候性。

(3)橡胶防老剂明显延缓EPDM制品老化时间

在橡胶制品配方中加入适量的防老剂可以延缓橡胶制品老化时间、延长使用寿命;其中胺类防老剂、防老剂NBC、对苯二胺类防老剂、酚类防老剂、石蜡和紫外线吸收剂都可以显著改善三元乙丙橡胶制品的耐候性,尤其是抗日光老化;需要特别注意的是,对苯二胺类防老剂虽然抗日光老化效果特别好,但其变色污染严重,不能用在浅色、彩色EPDM橡胶制品生产中。

三元乙丙橡胶和三元乙丙再生胶都具有优异的耐天候性,选对胶料品种、合理调整橡胶制品配方中补强填充体系和防老体系,可以进一步改善三元乙丙橡胶制品的耐天候性,延长EPDM制品使用寿命。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。