Rubber Chem Encyclopedia

The difference between hydrophilic filler and hydrophobic filler in rubber products

Create Date:2018-07-23 10:34:46Click volume:368
The difference between hydrophilic filler and hydrophobic filler in rubber products

The rubber filler is the material filled in the rubber compound, which can reduce the cost of the rubber compound and improve the performance of the rubber product. According to the chemical composition, it can be divided into an organic filler and an inorganic filler, and can be classified into a reinforcing filler and a non-reinforcing filler according to the reinforcing property. This is well known; in addition, the rubber filler can be divided into a hydrophilic filler and a hydrophobic filler according to the hydrophilicity, and the hydrophilic property of the filler directly affects its dispersibility in the rubber, so which fillers are hydrophilic. What are the fillers and which fillers are hydrophobic fillers? How do you deal with the hydrophilicity of rubber fillers and maximize their value?

Generally, molecules with polar groups have a greater affinity for water, can attract water or are easily soluble in water, and the largest amount of rubber filler in rubber products - light calcium is a hydrophilic filler containing polar groups. Light calcium and rubber will produce negative charge when mixed, and the same sex will repel, which makes it difficult to disperse light calcium in rubber quickly. Magnesium oxide, zinc oxide, calcium sulfate and other salt fillers all contain polar groups; clay and mica powder Although inorganic fillers such as talc and kaolin contain polar groups and are not easily infiltrated by rubber, these fillers have a large particle size and a low degree of structure, so that they can be dispersed in rubber at a relatively high speed. White carbon black is a reinforcing filler commonly used in the production of light-colored rubber products. It has small particle size, high structure, low density, easy to generate static electricity, and is difficult to mix into rubber.

Hydrophobicity refers to the physical property of water and water repelling each other. Hydrophobic molecules usually converge in water. The reinforcing fillers commonly used in carbon black rubber products are also the most typical hydrophobic fillers, which are easily infiltrated by rubber. It can be uniformly dispersed in the rubber, and in this respect, it can be filled in a large amount in the rubber; however, the carbon black has a small particle size, a high degree of structure, and high heat of kneading, and thus is not suitable for high filling. Filling the rubber product with carbon black as a filler can select a product having a low structural structure and a large particle size to appropriately increase the filling amount.

In the production of rubber products, the hydrophobic filler is more easily dispersed in the rubber compound, but the hydrophilic filler is indispensable, how to improve the dispersion of the hydrophilic filler in the rubber product? Surface modification is the most effective method. Surface modification refers to imparting new properties to the surface, such as hydrophilicity, antistatic property, dyeability and biocompatibility, while maintaining the original properties of the filler. Taking white carbon black as an example, it is possible to use a high polymer or a resin to improve the surface modification, or to use a functional group in the organic molecule to chemically react with the surface of the filler to perform surface modification of the particle, and to add an appropriate amount of silane to the rubber product formulation. The coupling agent or SA improves the dispersibility of the silica in the compound and exerts better reinforcing properties.

再生胶辅料百科

橡胶制品中亲水性填料和疏水性填料的区别

时间:2018-07-23 10:34:46点击:318编辑:鸿运再生橡胶
橡胶制品中亲水性填料和疏水性填料的区别

橡胶填料即填充在胶料中的物料,可以降低胶料成本、改善橡胶制品性能,按照化学组成可分为有机填料和无机填料,按照补强性可分为补强填料和非补强填料,这都是我们所熟知的;此外橡胶填料按照亲水性还可以分为亲水性填料和疏水性填料,填料的亲水性能又直接影响它在橡胶中的分散性,那么哪些填料属于亲水性填料、哪些填料属于疏水性填料,又该如何应对橡胶填料的亲水性、发挥最大价值?

一般带有极性基团的分子对水有较大的亲和能力,可以吸引水或者易溶解于水,橡胶制品中用量最大橡胶填料—轻钙就是含有极性基团的亲水性填料,轻钙与橡胶在混炼时都会产生负电荷,同性相斥,导致轻钙难以快速分散在橡胶中,氧化镁、氧化锌、硫酸钙等盐类填料都含有极性基团;陶土、云母粉、滑石粉、高岭土等无机填料虽然含有极性基团,不易被橡胶浸润,但是这些填料本身粒径较大、结构度较低,因此可以以较快的速度分散在橡胶中。白炭黑是浅色橡胶制品生产中常用的补强型填料,粒径小、结构度高、密度小、易产生静电,难以混入橡胶中。

疏水性是指输水物与水相互排斥的物理性能,疏水性分子在水里通常会聚成一团;炭黑橡胶制品业通用的补强填料,也是最典型的疏水性填料,容易被橡胶浸润,在橡胶中可以均匀分散,从这方面看可以大量填充在橡胶中;但是炭黑粒径小、结构度高、混炼生热高,因此不适合高填充。将炭黑作为填充剂填充在橡胶制品中可以选择结构性低、粒径大的产品适当增加填充量。

在橡胶制品生产中,疏水性填料更容易分散在胶料中,但亲水性填料又是不可缺少的存在,那么该如何提高亲水性填料在橡胶制品中的分散性呢?表面改性是最行之有效的办法,表面改性是指在保持填料原有性能的前提下赋予其表面新的性能,如亲水性、抗静电性、染色性、生物相容性等。以白炭黑为例,可以使用高聚物或者树脂进步表面改性,也可以利用有机物分子中的官能团与填料表面发生化学反应进行颗粒表面改性,还可以在橡胶制品配方中添加适量的硅烷偶联剂或者SA,提高白炭黑在胶料中的分散性,发挥更好的补强性能。

关注鸿运橡胶:学习再生橡胶生产橡胶制品的工艺配方和原料的技术,帮您降低成本增加利润。